McLaren Racing announced on Thursday that Swedish driver Felix Rosenqvist will remain with Arrow McLaren SP in the NTT IndyCar Series from 2023 onwards.

The news means that the team will have Pato O’Ward, Felix Rosenqvist and Alexander Rossi for 2023 as the outfit expands to a three car full-time programme.

Speaking about the news, Rosenqvist said:

“I’m delighted to be remaining with McLaren for 2023 and beyond. With the team expanding into Formula E next season, it provides additional opportunities for me both in the USA and Europe and I look forward to being in a position to announce my plans in the coming weeks. I’ve loved my time with the Arrow McLaren SP Team in IndyCar driving the No. 7 car and we’ve had some great moments together, including securing pole earlier this year in Texas and coming home P4 in the Indy 500. I’m excited and grateful to be given this opportunity to explore the new options available to utilise my experience to help McLaren start 2023 on the strongest possible footing.”

McLaren Racing CEO Zak Brown commented:

I’m delighted to be continuing our relationship with Felix. He’s a fantastic racer, with a lot of experience in many different types of racing cars. As a proven race winner in both categories, it was important for us to secure his talent withing the McLaren Racing family as we work to finalise our plans for 2023. His experience in Formula E would be invaluable as we head into this exciting new era of racing for McLaren Racing but he has also made a fantastic contribution to our IndyCar team. I look forward to working together with him to finalise the best opportunity for him next season.”

The news comes hot on the heals of McLaren’s announcement earlier today that Nissan will provide their electric powertrain to the McLaren Formula E Team next season.

Share This