Alexander Rossi, the former Formula One driver and 2016 Indianapolis 500 winner has been nominated for the Autosport Rookie of the year award.

The American teamed up with Michael Andretti and Bryan Herta in the Verizon IndyCar Series in 2016 and was extremely impressive throughout the season. The Californian was named the Verizon IndyCar Series Sunoco rookie of the year at the end of season prize giving in October.

Rossi is not the only Verizon IndyCar Series driver nominated for an Autosport Award, series champion Simon Pagenaud who drives for Team Penske has also been nominated, and the Frenchman has been nominated in the International driver of the year award.

The 2016 Autosport Awards take place on Sunday December 4 at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London.

Share This