Andretti Autosport’s Alexander Rossi in the No.27 AutoNation Honda ended the opening 45 minute practice session at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway as the fastest driver with a time of 01:09.878s ending the session just ahead of Meyer Shank Racing’s Jack Harvey in the No.60 AutoNation Sirius XM Honda who set a time of 01:09.965s.

Ed Carpenter Racing’s Rinus VeeKay was third fastest with a time of 01:10.062s ending the session just ahead of Team Penske’s Josef Newgarden in the No.2 SnapOn Chevrolet who set a time of 01:10.064s.

Dale Coyne Racing with Rick Ware Racing’s Romain Grosjean had a great session ending up in fifth place with a time of 01:10.159s just ahead of Colton Herta in the No.26 Gainbridge Honda who set a time of 01:10.225s while Scott McLaughlin in the No.3 PPG Chevrolet for Team Penske was seventh with a time of 01:10.305s.

Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda was eighth fastest with a time of 01:10.436s ending the morning just ahead of Graham Rahal in the No.15 Fifth Third Bank Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda who set a time of 01:10.474s.

Ed Carpenter Racing’s Conor Daly ended the session in tenth place with a time of 01:10.500s just ahead of Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 Menards Chevrolet who set a time of 01:10.510s ending the session just ahead of Ed Jones in the No.18 Mouser Honda with a time of 01:10.554s.

Will Power in the No.12 Verizon 5G was 13th with a time of 01:10.705s just ahead of Andretti Harding Steinbrenner Autosport’s James Hinchciffe who set a time of 01:10.726s.

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Marcus Ericsson in the No.8 Huski Chocolate Honda was 15th with a time of 01:10.729s, championship leader Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda was 16th with a time of 01:10.773s while Takuma Sato was 17th with a time of 01:10.801s just ahead of Pato O’Ward in the No.5 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet who set a time of 01:10.813s.

Dalton Kellet in the No.4 K-Line Chevrolet was 19th with a time of 01:10.864s ending the session just ahead of Arrow McLaren SP’s Felix Rosenqvist with a time of 01:10.965s.

In his first race weekend practice session in four years, Juan Pablo Montoya in the No.86 Lucas Oil Chevrolet was 21st with a time of 01:11.483s.

Jimmie Johnson was 22nd with a time of 01:11.687s while Charlie Kimball was 23rd with a time of 01:12.200s while teammate Sebastien Bourdais stopped on track with a time of 01:30.867s while Alex Palou didn’t set a time due to a water leak in his No.10 American Legion Chip Ganassi Racing Honda.

Share This