Andretti Autosport’s series points leader Alexander Rossi in the No.27 Ruoff Home Mortgages Honda will start today’s race 2 in Detroit from pole position. Speaking about the run he said Firestone have done an amazing job with the new wet tire and starting on pole with new reds is a great thing.

Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Robert Wickens in the No.6 Lucas Oil Honda joins Rossi on the front in second place while Indianapolis 500 winner Will Power starts the race from third place in the No.12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet.

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Ed Jones followed up a strong showing on Saturday and will start the race from fourth place in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda just ahead of his team mate and yesterday’s race winner Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda. The Iceman starts the race just ahead of Schmidt Peterson Motorsports James Hinchcliffe in the No.5 Arrow Electronics Honda.

Andretti Autosport’s Zach Veach starts the race from seventh place in the No.26 Relay/Group 1001 Honda.

Team Penske’s Simon Pagenaud starts the race from eighth place on the grid in the No.22 DXC Technology Chevrolet. Graham Rahal in the No.15 United Rentals Honda starts the race from ninth place for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing while Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda rounds out the top ten.

Ed Carpenter Racing’s Jordan King starts the race from 11th place just ahead of yesterday’s pole sitter Marco Andretti in the No.98 AutoNation Honda for Bryan Herta Autosport.

Verizon IndyCar Series rookie Santiago Ferrucci had a great session as he starts the race from 13th place on the grid in the No.19 Paysafe Honda for Dale Coyne Racing.

Harding Racing’s Gabby Chaves starts the race from 14th place just ahead of Ed Carpenter Racing’s Spencer Pigot in the No.21 Fuzzy’s Vodka Chevrolet while Dale Coyne with Vasser Sullivan Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais in the No.18 SealMaster Honda starts the race from 16th place on the grid.

Carlin Racing’s Max Chilton in the No.59 Gallagher Chevrolet starts the race from 17th place just ahead of AJ Foyt Racing’s Mathues ‘Matt’ Leist.

Defending series champion Josef Newgarden in the No.1 Hitachi Team Penske Chevrolet made a mistake on his during group 2 qualifying and as a result starts the race in 19th place just ahead of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Takuma Sato in the No.30 Fifth/Third Bank Honda.

Charlie Kimball starts the race from 21st place for Carlin Racing just ahead of AJ Foyt Racing’s Tony Kanaan in the No.14 ABC Supply Chevrolet who brought out the red flag during the session following a spin and as a result he had his best times deleted.

Juncos Racing elected not to send Rene Binder out on track so as a result he starts the race from 23rd place.

Share This