Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Takuma Sato in the No.30 Mi-Jack Panasonic Honda took victory in today’s Portland Grand Prix as the Verizon IndyCar Series headed back to Oregon.

Starting the race from 20th place the Japanese driver came home just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda and Dale Coyne with Vasser Sullivan Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais in the No.18 Team Gorilla Automotive Products Honda.

Spencer Pigot in the No.21 Fuzzy’s Vodka Chevrolet finished in fourth place for Ed Carpenter Racing while it was a great day for Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda in terms of the championship as he finished the race in 5th place and as a result takes a 29 point lead into the double points season finale over Alexander Rossi.

Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 Menards Chevrolet for Team Penske finished the race in sixth. It was a great day for Carlin Racing and Charlie Kimball in the No.23 Tresiba ® Chevrolet as the Californian finished the event in seventh place.

Andretti Autosport’s Alexander Rossi in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda finished the race in eighth place just ahead of Dale Coyne Racing’s Pietro Fittipaldi in the No.19 Paysafe Honda who picked up his first Verizon IndyCar Series top ten finish. Defending series champion Josef Newgarden in the No.1 Verizon Chevrolet rounded out the top ten fir Team Penske.

AJ Foyt Racing’s Tony Kanaan in the No.14 ABC Supply Chevrolet finished the race just outside the top ten in eleventh.

In his first race with Schmidt Peterson Motorsports in the No.6 Lucas Oil Honda, Carlos Munoz finished the race in 12th place.

Harding Racing’s Gabby Chaves in the No.88 Harding Group Chevrolet finished the race in 13th place just ahead of AJ Foyt Racing’s Matheus Matt Leist in the No.4 ABC Supply Chevrolet.

Jordan King in the No.20 Fuzzy’s Vodka Chevrolet finished in 15th place just ahead of Jack Harvey in the No.60 AutoNation/Sirius XM MSR with SPM Honda.

Alfonso Celis Jr finished the race in 17th place just ahead of Max Chilton in the No.59 Gallagher Chevrolet and Zach Veach in the No.26 Group 1001 Honda.

Santino Ferrucci finished the race in 20th place just ahead of pole sitter Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet.

Schmidt Peterson Motorsports James Hinchcliffe in the No.5 Arrow Electronics Honda, Graham Rahal in the No.15 One Cure Honda for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, Marco Andretti in the No.98 MilitaryToMotorsports Honda and Chip Ganassi Racing’s Ed Jones in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda retired from the race.

Share This