The NTT INDYCAR SERIES heads to World Wide Technology Raceway for the Bommarito Automotive Group 500 presented by Axalta and Valvoline this weekend with six drivers still mathematically in the running for the championship.

Alex Palou in the No.10 The American Legion Chip Ganassi Racing Honda has a 101 points lead over his Chip Ganassi Racing teammate Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda who won last time out at IMS.

Alex Palou, Scott Dixon, Josef Newgarden, Scott McLaughlin, Pato O’Ward and Marcus Ericsson are still in the hunt for the championship.

The 101 points that separate Alex Palou and Scott Dixon is the largest point margin with three races remaining since 2008. Prior to this season, the average lead with three races to go since 2008 was 28.5 points.

The last time the INDYCAR SERIES championship was clinched before the final race was 2007 when Sebastien Bourdais won the Champ Car World Series with one race remaining.

Palou will be crowned champion for the second time in three years if he leaves World Wide Technology Raceway on Sunday leading the championship by 108 points of more.

Share This