Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing Honda proved on Saturday that anything can happen in the NTT INDYCAR SERIES. Starting the Gallagher Grand Prix of Indianapolis on the IMS road course from 15th place, the Iceman was caught up in a first lap incident when he tapped Alex Palou and was hit into a spin by Romain Grosjean putting him back down to 22nd place.

The Iceman and the No.9 PNC Bank crew didn’t give and fought their way back through the field with a fantastic strategy to beat pole-sitter Graham Rahal resulting in Scott Dixon’s 54th career win and on the day that he broke Tony Kanaan’s consecutive race record which now stands at 319.

Arrow McLaren’s Pato O’Ward was third just ahead of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Christian Lundgaard and Alexander Rossi. WIll Power came through the field to finish the race in sixth place just ahead of the points leader Alex Palou.

Scott McLaughlin in the No.3 Gallagher Chevrolet finished the race in 8th place just ahead of Kyle Kirkwood and Marcus Ericsson who rounded out the top ten.

Rinus VeeKay came home in 11th just ahead of Linus Lindqvist who had a great race for Meyer Shank Racing finishing in 12th place just ahead of Colton Herta who struggled early in the race. Jack Harvey was 14th just ahead of Helio Castroneves and David Malukas.

Callum Ilott was 17th while Romain Grosjean who was caught up in the first-corner incident stopped on track at the end of the race in the No.28 DHL Honda.

Devlin DeFrancesco who led early on in the race finished the race in 19th place just ahead of Ryan Hunter Reay and Agustin Canapino. Sting Ray Robb was 22nd just ahead of Santino Ferrucci nd Marcus Armstrong who was caught up in the first lap incident as was Josef Newgarden who finished the race in 25th place and Benjamin Pedersen who was 26th while Felix Rosenqvist retired from the race.


Share This