The 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series season kicks off this weekend with the Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg. Team Penske head into the new year as reigning champions with the No.2 Verizon Chevrolet crew the defending winners at St Petersburg with Juan Pablo Montoya.

The No.2 crew have a new driver with Josef Newgarden having joined the outfit from Ed Carpenter Racing.

Will Power who missed the Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg but has secured six Verizon P1 Awards in the last seven season with Team Penske at the St Petersburg event. Helio Castroneves has five consecutive top five finishes at St Petersburg, something he will want to continue this season as he starts his 20th season in the Verizon IndyCar Series.

At the Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg last season, Team Penske secured a 1-2 finish with Simon Pagenaud finishing the race in second place behind race winner Juan Pablo Montoya.

Newgarden goes in to the season opening Firestone Grand Prix driving the No.2 Verizon Chevrolet hoping to his debut race with Team Penske with a strong showing on the streets of St Petersburg after retiring from this race last season. The on track action gets underway on Friday morning at 11:15AM.


Share This