The stage is set at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway for the Greatest Spectacle In Racing as the 102nd running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil takes place this weekend.

At Paddock Eye we decided to do a bit of digging a look back at the history of the Indianapolis 500 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway starting with the 1920 event.

The 1920 edition of the Indianapolis 500 took place on May 31st 1920 and was won by Frenchman Gaston Chevrolet who took the victory with the William Small Company. Looking back at the event, Italian Ralph DePalma took pole position for the race at a speed of 99.65MPH.

DePalma’s position speed is snails pace compared to today’s pole position speed of Ed Carpenter Racing’s Ed Carpenter who secured his third Indianapolis 500 pole on Sunday with a four lap average speed of 229.618MPH.

In 1920, 23 drivers from five countries took part in the race, in 2018, 33 drivers from eleven countries will participate in the most famous motor race on the planet this weekend.

Share This