Team Penske’s Will Power in the No.12 Verizon 5G Chevrolet says his car feels good and that he feels better than he has here in recent years as he led the opening day of practice at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway for the 105th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge with a speed of 226.470MPH.

Ryan Hunter Reay was the fastest Honda-powered car in the No.28 DHL Honda for Andretti Autosport with a speed of 226.371MPH.

Defending Indianapolis 500 winner Takuma Sato in the No.30 Panasonic PeopleReady Honda was third fastest with a speed of 226.132MPH ending the session just ahead of Dreyer and Reinbold Racing’s Sage Karam with a 225.942MPH while Simon Pagenaud set a 225.230MPH just ahead of Arrow McLaren SP’s Pato O’Ward in the No.5 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet who set a speed of 225.146MPH ending the session just ahead of series points leader Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing with a speed of 224.988MPH.

Ed Jones in the No.18 SealMaster Dale Coyne with Casser Sullivan Racing with a speed of 224.651MPH while Marcus Ericsson in the No.8 Huski Chocolate Chip Ganassi Racing Honda rounded out the top ten with a speed of 224.615MPH while Tony Kanaan in the No.48 American Legion Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing was eleventh fastest with a speed of 224.593MPH.

It was a great session for Juan Pablo Montoya who ended the day in 12th place with a speed of 224.384MPH for Arrow McLaren SP. The stand outperformance of the day was Paretta Autosport and Simona De Silvestro who completed over 66 laps with the fastest speed of 224.230MPH.

Josef Newgarden was 14th for Team Penske just ahead of Rinus Veekay and Andretti Autosport’s James Hinchcliffe. Felix Rosenqvist was 17th for Arrow McLaren SP while Ed Carpenter was 18th just ahead of Marco Andretti who is attempting to qualify for his first race of the season while Colton Herta rounded out the top 20.

Helio Castroneves who has returned to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway oval with Meyer Shank Racing had a solid session in 21st place with a speed of 223.059MPH and speaking following the action he said:

This is the first official day with Meyer Shank Racing and I thought it went really well. We collected a lot of data today and that was the goal. We were able to get through our program, and found some areas that we can improve on to get us through the rest of the week. As of right now the speed may not be up there, but we are focusing on a lot of things and hopefully that will translate at the end of the week. The AutoNation / SiriusXM car, it was good and it’s always great to be back at the Indianapolis 500.

Alexander Rossi in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda was 22nd with a speed of 223.004MPH ending the session just ahead of Alex Palou and Charlie Kimball. Scott McLaughlin in the No.3 Pennzoil Chevrolet was 25th just ahead of Graham Rahal and Dalton Kellett while JR Hildebrand was 28th for AJ Foyt Racing. Jack Harvey in the No.60 AutoNation Sirius XM Honda for Meyer Shank Racing had to make a precautionary engine change this morning and ended the day in 30th place with a speed of 222.113MPH and speaking following the action he said:

I think we made good progress throughout the day. It’s always hard  on a day like today to see how everyone shakes out. I don’t think the time sheet necessarily reflected how we were at the end of the day. I was just happy that the car got back out on track and that we made progress on the race car.”

Max Chilton was 30th for Carlin Racing while Pietro Fittipaldi was 31st just ahead of Santino Ferrucci and Sebastien Bourdais who suffered a mechanical issue. Stefan Wilson rounded out the order for Andretti Autosport in 34th place while RC Enerson will have to complete his run on Wednesday having suffered a technical issue in his Top Gun Racing Chevrolet.

Share This