The 2020 NTT IndyCar Series title deciding Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg is just one week away. Five time series champion Scott Dixon who drives the No.9 PNC Bank Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing goes into the final race of the year with a 32 point lead in the championship over defending series champion Josef Newgarden of Team Penske.

The championship is not the only thing that needs to be settled next weekend but the Manufacturers’ title will be awarded. Honda Performance Development have been extremely dominant this season however Chevrolet have also won their fair share of races and have fought at the front throughout the season.

Third place in the championship is still up for grabs with Andretti Harding Steinbrenner Autosport’s Colton Herta in the No.88 Honda just 14 points ahead of Team Penske’s Will Power.

Andretti Autosport’s James Hinchcliffe will be hoping for a strong weekend as he aims to return to full time NTT IndyCar Series competition in 2021 after completing a partial schedule in 2020. The Mayor of HinchTown was originally scheduled to do just three races this season but was drafted in to replace Zach Veach in the No.26 Gainbridge Honda for the final three races of the season as Veach left the team.

The upcoming week ahead of the race will be a busy as Paddock Eye understands a number of announcements are imminent with Chip Ganassi Racing expected to announce further details of Jimmie Johnson’s programme for 2021, we already know that he will compete on road and street course events but it is expected that he will drive the No.10 NTT DATA Honda in place of Felix Rosenqvist who is expected to join Pato O’Ward at Arrow McLaren SP next season.

It is also going to be interesting to see how Scott McLaughlin gets on with Team Penske as he will finally make his NTT IndyCar Series race debut with the team next weekend having wrapped up his third consecutive Virgin Atlantic Australian Super Cars Championship at Bathurst on Sunday.

The 2020 NTT IndyCar Series Rookie of The Year will be crowned with both Ed Carpenter Racing’s Rinus Veekay and Alex Palou up for the honor.


Share This