The drivers who will compete in the 102nd running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil have been decided.

Two teams were sent home, shockingly Schmidt Peterson Motorsports James Hinchcliffe in the No.5 Arrow Electronics Honda will not compete in the race neither will Dale Coyne Racing’s Pippa Mann.

The Firestone Fast 9 looks like this, Team Penske’s Helio Castroneves will be the last driver to go out for the pole run on Sunday after setting a four lap average of 228.919MPH.

The three time Indianapolis 500 winner is joined by Ed Carpenter and his Team Penske’s team mate’s Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 Menards Chevrolet and Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet.

Vasser Sullivan with Dale Coyne Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais was the fastest Honda with a four lap average of 228.090MPH while Spencer Pigot in the No.21 Preferred Freezer Services Chevrolet was sixth. Defending series champion Josef Newgarden was seventh in the No.1 Verizon Chevrolet while Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda was eighth fastest. Ed Carpenter Racing got all of their cars into the Firestone Fast Nine as Danica Patrick will go for the pole in her final Indianapolis 500.

Alexander Rossi just missed out on a place in the Firestone Fast nine in 10th place in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda for Andretti Autosport with AJ Foyt Racing’s Tony Kanaan in the No.14 ABC Supply Chevrolet in 11th.

Matheus ‘Matt’ Leist was 12th in the second AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet just ahead of Ed Jones in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing.

Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda for Andretti Autosport was 14th just ahead of his team mate for the month of May Carlos Munoz.

Dreyer and Reinbold Racing’s Sage Karam was 16th fastest just ahead of Bryan Herta Autosport’s Marco Andretti in the No.98 US Concrete Honda just ahead of Jay Howard in the No.7 SPM Honda while Sage Karam was 19th fastest.

Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Robert Wickens in the No.6 Lucas Oil Honda was 20th just ahead of Juncos Racing’s Kyle Kaiser while Stefan Wilson was 22nd for Andretti Autosport just ahead of Harding Racing’s Gabby Chaves in the No.88 Harding Group Chevrolet.

Zach Veach was 24th for Andretti Autosport just ahead of Carlin Racing’s Charlie Kimball and Zachary Claman DeMelo.

Jack Harvey was 27th for Meyer/Shank Racing with SPM just ahead of Carlin Racing’s Max Chilton and last year’s Indianapolis 500 winner Takuma Sato. Graham Rahal was 30th just ahead of his team mate Oriol Servia. Conor Daly snuck into the field in 32nd place for Dale Coyne Racing while James Davison rounds out the entries. The field will be set tomorrow.


Share This