The 106th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge takes place in six weeks and with that in mind, here at Paddock Eye, we thought we would take a look at where the grid is currently at. The race is traditionally formed of 33 drivers and as we head into the month of May, there are 32 confirmed drivers for 2022.

Chip Ganassi Racing has five cars set for the Indianapolis 500,

8. Marcus Ericsson – Huski Chocolate Honda

9. Scott Dixon – PNC Bank Honda

10. Alex Palou – NTT DATA Honda

48. Jimmie Johnson – Carvana Honda

Number TBC. Tony Kanaan – American Legion Honda

Andretti Autosport have five cars with Marco Andretti returning for the 500.

26. Colton Herta – Gainbridge Honda

27. Alexander Rossi – NAPA Auto Parts AutoNation Honda

28. Romain Grosjean – DHL Honda

29. Devlin DeFrancesco – PowerTab Honda

98. Marco Andretti – KULR Technology Honda

Arrow McLaren SP has three cars with:

5. Pato O’Ward – Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet

6. Juan Pablo Montoya – Mission Foods Chevrolet

7. Felix Rosenqvist – Vuse Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet

Dale Coyne Racing will run two cars.

18. David Malukas – HMD Motorsport Honda

51. Takuma Sato – ODT Honda

Team Penske will run three cars.

2. Josef Newgarden – Hitachi Chevrolet

3. Scott McLaughlin – Pennzoil Chevrolet

12. Will Power – Verizon 5G Chevrolet

Meyer Shank Racing will run two cars.

06. Helio Castroneves – AutoNation Honda

60. Simon Pagenaud – AutoNation Sirius XM Honda

Juncos Racing has one car.

77. Callum Ilott Chevrolet

Dreyer and Reinbold Racing are back this season and will run two cars.

23. Santino Ferrucci Chevrolet.

24. Sage Karam Chevrolet.

Ed Carpenter Racing has three cars.

20. Conor Daly – Bitnile Chevrolet

21. Rinus VeeKay – SONAX Chevrolet

33. Ed Carpenter – Alzmend Chevrolet

AJ Foyt Racing has three cars.

4. Dalton Kellett – K-Line Insulators Chevrolet

11. J.R Hildebrand – ROKiT Chevrolet

14. Kyle Kirkwood – ROKiT Chevrolet

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing has three cars.

15. Graham Rahal – United Rentals Honda

30. Christian Lundgaard – PeopleReady Honda

45. Jack Harvey – Hy-Vee Honda

As for who might take up the 33rd spot on the grid for the Indianapolis 500? Paddock Eye understands that although there has been no word from Paretta Autosport regarding the month of May, team owner Beth Paretta has been working hard behind the scenes to have something in place for the 500, we understand that Simona De Silvestro will once again drive the car.

Paretta attended last weekend’s Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach. The 106th running of the Indianapolis presented by Gainbridge takes place on Sunday 29 May. For more information visit – http://IMS.COM


Share This