Chip Ganassi Racing’s NTT DATA Chevrolet of Tony Kanaan led the way on Carb Day at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in the final Verizon IndyCar Series track action before Sunday’s main event the 100th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil.

Kanaan in the No.10 Chevrolet completed 42 laps with a fastest speed of 226.280mph and ended the session just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Carlos Munoz and reigning Verizon IndyCar Series champion and Ganassi team mate Scott Dixon in the No.9 Target Chevrolet.

Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Team Penske was fourth fastest for Team Penske making it four Chevy powered cars in the top five.

Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda Andretti Autosport was fifth fastest just ahead of Indianapolis 500 rookie and team mate Alexander Rossi in the No.98 NAPA Auto Parts Honda. JR Hildebrand was seventh fastest for Ed Carpenter Racing in the No.6 Preferred Freezer Fuzzy’s Vodka Chevrolet.

Orial Servia was eighth fastest for Schmidt Peterson Motorsports in his No.77 Honda just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Townsend Bell while Helio Castroneves in the No.3 Pennzoil Team Penske Chevrolet rounded out the top ten with a speed of 223.959mph.

Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Mikhail Aleshin was 11th fastest just ahead of his team mate and Indy 500 pole sitter James Hinchcliffe in the No.5 Arrow Electronics Honda.

Defending Indianapolis 500 winner Juan Pablo Montoya was 13th fastest in the No.2 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet just ahead of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal in the No.15 Steak N’Shake Honda.

Takuma Sato in the No.14 ABC Supply Co AJ Foyt Racing Honda was 15th fastest ending the action just ahead of Dale Coyne Racing’s Conor Daly. Josef Newgarden in the No.20 Preferred Freezer Services Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet was 17th fastest just ahead of Dreyer and Reinbold and Kingdom Racing’s Sage Karam in the No.24 Gas Monkey Energy Chevrolet.

AJ Foyt Racing’s Alex Tagliani was 19th fastest with a speed of 223.133mph just ahead of Ed Carpenter who rounded out the top 20 in the No.20 Fuzzy’s Ultra Premium Vodka Chevrolet.

Andretti Autosport’s Marco Andretti in the No.27 Snapple Honda was 21st fastest just ahead of current points leader Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 Menards Team Penske Chevrolet.

Sebastien Bourdais in the No.11 Team Hydroxycut Chevrolet was 23rd fastest for KVSH Racing just ahead of AJ Foyt Racing’s Jack Hawksworth in the No.41 ABC Supply Co. Honda. Gabby Chaves in the No.19 Dale Coybe Racing Honda was 25th fastest just ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Charlie Kimball in the No.42 Tresiba® Chevrolet.

Bryan Clauson in the No.88 Dale Coyne Racing Honda was 27th fastest just ahead of his team mate Pippa Mann in the No.63 Susan G Komen Honda. Mann suffered a heavy crash at Turn 4 during the final practice run and speaking following the incident a disappointed Mann commented by saying:

“I’m absolutely fine, I just really feel sorry for the crew. I was trying to find some clean air in pack running there, got a little too low on the inside. Dropped the ball and gave them some work to do overnight. The good news is the damage wasn’t too bad, Hopefully it’s the right rear corner, rear attenuator, rear wing and that’s all we have to fix.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Spencer Pigot was 29th fastest in the No.16 RLL/Mi-Jack Manitowoc Honda just ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing team’s Max Chilton. Stefan Wilson was 31st fastest for KV Racing Technology just ahead of Matt Brabham while Buddy Lazier rounded out the field in 33rd place.

The Indianapolis Motor Speedway will now fall silent to the sound of IndyCar until the command ‘Drivers Start Your Engines’ is given on Sunday afternoon for the 100th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil.

Share This