Aston Martin Red Bull Racing’s Max Verstappen set the fastest time in the opening practice session for Sunday’s Mexican Grand Prix ending the session just ahead of his team mate Daniel Ricciardo setting a time of 01:16.656s.

The Renault Sport F1 Team’s Carlos Sainz and his team mate Nico Hulkenberg were the stars of the session as they ended the session in third and fourth place respectively.

Championship leader Lewis Hamilton and his Mercedes team mate Valtteri Bottas were fifth and sixth respectively.

Scuderia Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel was seventh while his team mate, untied States Grand Prix winner Kimi Raikkonen was eighth just ahead of Scuderia Toro Rosso’s Brendan Hartley. Racing Point Force India F1 Team’s reserve driver Nicholas Latifi rounded out the top ten.

Home favourite Sergio Perez in the second Racing Point Force India F1 Team car was 11th just ahead of the Alfa Romeo Sauber F1 Team’s test and reserve driver Antonio Giovinazzi.

Romain Grosjean was 13th for the Haas F1 Team just ahead of Marcus Ericsson in the second Sauber.

Lando Norris was 15th for McLaren Renault just ahead of his team mate Stoffel Vandoorne.

Kevin Magnussen in the second Haas was 17th just ahead of Williams Martini Racing’s Sergey Sirotkin and Lance Stroll while Pierre Gasly rounded out the order in 20th place.

Share This