Formula One world champion Max Verstappen took pole position for Sunday’s season-ending Abu Dhabi Grand Prix at the Yas Marina circuit.

The Dutch driver set a time of 01:23.445s and starts the race with Charles Leclerc beside him in second which was a shot in the arm for Ferrari who just four points behind Mercedes in the race for second in the Constructors championship.

McLaren Racing’s Oscar Piastri had a fantastic session as he starts the race from third place with a time of 01:23.782s while George Russell starts fourth for Mercedes just ahead of Lando Norris and Yuki Tsunoda who had a fantastic day for Scuderia AlphaTauri.

Fernando Alonso starts seventh just ahead of Nico Hulkenberg and Sergio Perez while Pierre Gasly rounds out the top ten for Alpine.

Four-time Abu Dhabi Grand Prix winner Lewis Hamilton missed out on a place in Q3 and starts the race from P11 just ahead of Esteban Ocon and Lance Stroll.

Alex Albon starts 14th just ahead of Daniel Ricciardo and Carlos Sainz.

Kevin Magnussen starts 17th just ahead of Valtteri Bottas and Guanyu Zhou while Logan Sargeant failed to set a time after losing a lap for breaching track limits.

Share This