Defending Formula One world champion Max Verstappen has extended his championship lead after taking victory on Formula One’s return to Canada for the first time in three years.

Verstappen who started the race from pole came home just ahead of Scuderia Ferrari’s Carlos Sainz while Lewis Hamilton completed the podium.

George Russell came home in fourth place just ahead of Charles Leclerc who came from P19 to claim a top-five finish.

The Alpine F1 Team’s Esteban Ocon and Fernando Alonso finished the race in sixth and seventh respectively.

Alonso will be disappointed having started the race from second place.

Alfa Romeo F1 Team’s Valtteri Bottas and Zhou Guanyu were eighth and ninth respectively while Lance Stroll rounded out the top-ten.

Daniel Ricciardo was P11 just ahead of Sebastian Vettel and Alex Albon.

Pierre Gasly was P14 just ahead of Lando Norris and Nicholas Latifi and Kevin Magnussen. There was a safety car after Yuki Tsunoda was forced to retire after losing control of his car coming out of the pits which brought out the safety car.

Mick Schumacher and Sergio Perez also retired from the race. Next up is the Beitish Grand Prix from Silverstone in two weeks time.

The win was Oracle Red Bull Racing’s sixth in a row.

Share This