The all female W Series have revealed a prize money fund worth $1.5 million for the inaugural 2019 season which ends on August 11th at Brands Hatch.

The top 12 finishers for the 2019 season will be granted automatic entry to reapply for the series in 2020.

Speaking about the news, W Series CEO Catherine Bond Muir said:



The inaugural season of W Series is proving to be a roaring success. The racing is close and competitive, and three drivers have won races so far [Jamie Chadwick, Beitske Visser and Marta Garcia]. With two points-scoring races still to go, at Assen [Netherlands] and Brands Hatch [UK], four drivers can still become W Series champion [Jamie Chadwick, Beitske Visser, Marta Garcia and Fabienne Wohlwend]. There will be prize money for all our drivers, all the way down to last place, but those four will be pulling out all the stops at Assen and Brands Hatch in their efforts to scoop the US$500,000 top prize.

“Building on the ongoing success of W Series this year, next year’s W Series will be open to the top 12 points-scoring drivers in the final 2019 W Series points table, and we’re already receiving plenty of expressions of interest from other drivers who haven’t taken part in W Series so far. The competition for the opportunity to race in 2020 W Series alongside the 2019 top 12 will be fierce but that’s what W Series is all about: a highly competitive race series in which the best female racing drivers in the world race one another in state-of-the-art Tatuus T-318 Formula 3 cars, on iconic racetracks, and thereby gain crucial on-track experience which will enable them to progress their careers on and up to more senior single-seater formulae, where they can race – and beat – their male rivals. And from 2020 onwards they’ll be earning Superlicence points as they do so.”

Share This