Channel 4 have confirmed their presenting team ahead of the opening Formula One race of the season in Melbourne, Australia.

Steve Jones will present the coverage alongside David Coulthard and Eddie Jordan who will juggle his Top Gear commitments with his role at Channel 4 as chief analyst, the role he held with BBC F1 from 2009 to 2015.

Jones took to Twitter to say:

I’m beyond excited to be the host of coverage. I will do my utmost to make F1 fans old and new proud. See you in Melbourne!

Lee McKenzie joins the team as pit-lane reporter while former HRT driver and Sky Sports F1 pundit Karun Chandok will also report from the pit-lane.

Formula One commentary legend Murray Walker returns to the sport with Channel 4 and will interview various personalities from the F1 world which will than be featured over the course of the season.

Former Formula One driver and current Porsche World Endurance Championship driver Mark Webber moves across from the BBC to join his former Red Bull team mate David Coulthard at Channel 4 where he will split his time between Formula One and his commitments with the WEC.

Four time world champion and former team owner Alain Prost also joins the Channel 4 team as does former Sky F1 pundit and Williams driver Bruno Senna.

Former Williams test and reserve driver Susie Wolff also joins the team as a pundit and will join presenter Steve Jones, David Coulthard and Eddie Jordan in the F1 paddock to discuss each of the races.

Ben Edwards has also moved across from the BBC and will act as lead commentator alongside David Coulthard.

It was announced in January that Channel 4 had won the rights to show Formula One ‘free to air’ in the UK after the BBC pulled out of their contract with commercial rights holder Bernie Ecclestone early.

Channel 4 F1 will show 10 races live starting with Bahrain Grand Prix which takes place from April 1-3.

The UK broadcaster who share the coverage of Formula One with Sky Sports F1 will show extended highlights of the remaining eleven Grand Prix including the season opening Australian Grand Prix.


Share This