The 2019 IndyCar Series season gets underway in exactly 100 days with the Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg taking place on March 10, 2019.

The series has had a fantastic 2018 championship following the introduction of the new universal aero-kit. Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon had a wonderful season, taking his fifth IndyCar Series championship.

Dixon will have a new team mate with Swedish drive Felix Rosenqvist making his IndyCar race debut in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda.

Harding Steinbrenner Racing will make their debut in the IndyCar Series will Colton Herta and Patricio O’Ward. Schmidt Peterson Motorsports have brought in former Formula One driver Marcus Ericsson to drive the No.7 Honda alongside James Hinchcliffe in the No.5 Arrow Electronics Honda in place of Robert Wickens who will be back in the No.6 Lucas Oil Honda when he is ready.

Team Penske remain a three car operation with Josef Newgarden, Simon Pagenaud and Will Power.

Dale Coyne Racing have brought in Santino Ferrucci alongside Sebastien Bourdais. McLaren Racing will return to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in May for the 103rd running of the Indianapolis 500 as an independent entity with Fernando Alonso.

It is not yet known whether Charlie Kimball will return to Carlin Racing for a second season alongside Max Chilton.

Meyer Shank Racing continue their partnership with Schmidt Peterson Motorsports with Jack Harvey returning to do an increased programme in 2019.

Spencer Pigot returns with Ed Carpenter Racing for a full-time programme in the No.21 Chevrolet while former Chip Ganassi Racing driver Ed Jones joins team owner Ed Carpenter in the No.20 Chevrolet for road and street course events while Carpenter continues to compete on ovals. Jones will move across to the No.64 Scuderia Corsa/Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet for the Indianapolis 500.

We also have the addition of the Circuit of the Americas to the calendar which plays host to the inaugural IndyCar Classic on March 24. The series will also return to Laguna Seca which plays host to the 2019 IndyCar Series season finale.

Share This