Fernando Alonso just said that the speed wasn’t there as he failed to make the top 30 positions for the 103rd running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge.

The Spaniard will get another chance on Bump Day on Sunday with the final row shootout.

Spencer Pigot in the No.21 Chevrolet is on the provisional pole for the with a speed of 230.083MPH.

Last year’s winner Will Power in the No.12 Verizon 5G Chevrolet is second with a speed of 230.081MPH.

Simon Pagenaud was thirs fastest just ahead of team mate Josef Newgarden and Colton Herta in the No.88 Guess Honda who was the star of the session with a speed of 229.478MPH.

Ed Jones was sixth with his team mate Ed Carpenter in seventh place. Alexander Rossi in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda was eighth while Sebastien Bourdais in the No.18 Team SealMaster Honda rounded out the Forestone Fast Nine and will go for pole tomorrow.

Marco Andretti in the No.98 US Concrete Honda was 10th just ahead of ahead of his team mate Conor Daly in the No.25 US Air Force Honda.

Helio Castroneves in the No.3 Pennzoil Chevrolet was 12th just ahead of Marcus Ericsson who qualified 13th for his first Indianapolis 500 and is the leading Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports car with a four lap average of 228.511MPH.

Takuma Sato will roll off 14th just ahead of James Davison and Tony Kanaan. Speaking following his qualifying Davison said:

I just have to put it all down to the Dale Coyne Racing with Byrd/Belardi team and Honda for the speed. All my crew guys put in a great team effort and it is great what we pulled off today. We exceeded our expectations. It’s tough when you’re a one-off Indy entry, you have the odds stacked against you. You don’t have the chemistry, you don’t have the full season momentum but that just felt really great and gratifying. It’s a full team effort here to make it into the race, and I’m just really proud of my guys.”

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal in the No.15 United Rentals Honda starts the race from 17th just ahead of defending champion Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing.

Oriol Servia starts the race from 19th just ahead of Charlie Kimball in the No.23 Fiap Chevrolet for Carlin Racing.

JR Hildebrand starts from 21st just ahead of Ryan Hunter Reay.

Dale Coyne Racing’s Santino Ferrucci in the No.19 Honda starts his first 500 from 23rd place and speaking following the session he said:

It’s a tough four laps, the first lap was pretty good, the other ones we were just loose, the car was moving a lot more than I ever wanted it to in Turn 1 and 2. Those were the scariest laps I’ve done here all week. I was just kind of hanging on at that point. Obviously, I was a lot happier yesterday when we were actually quicker in the warmer weather, but I can’t complain. We have a really good race car, so unfortunately, we’re just going to have to do a lot of passing. I’m just happy that we qualified, I feel a lot more confident about the race.”

Mathues Matt Leist starts the race from 24th just ahead of Meyer Shank Racing’s Jack Harvey in the No.60 AutoNation Sirius XM Honda.

Jordan King starts the race from 26th just ahead of Ben Hanley who on his Indy 500 debut will start the event from 27th for DragonSpeed.

Zach Veach in the No.26 Gainbridge Honda starts the race from 28th just ahead of Felix Rosenqvist in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing.

Pippa Mann made the field for the race putting her No.39 Driven2SaveLives Chevrolet in 30th place with a speed of 227.244MPH.

The final row shootout will take place between Fernando Alonso, Max Chilton, James Hinchcliffe, Sage Karam, Kyle Kaiser and Patricio O’Ward.

We are in for another dramatic day at the Speedway.


Share This