The 104th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge on Sunday August 23 may not have fans in attendance due to COVID-19 however, the good news is we will see a 33 car field.

As it stands there are 30 drivers confirmed for the race.

Arrow McLaren SP have added a car for Fernando Alonso who arrived in the US on Tuesday evening from Spain joining Oliver Askew and Pato O’Ward.

Helio Castroneves returns to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway for the 500, which is likely to be the 45 year old Brazilian’s last for Team Penske.

AJ Foyt Racing have three drivers for the race with Tony Kanaan, Dalton Kellett and Charlie Kimball.

James Hinchcliffe will return to Andretti Autosport in the No.29 Genesys Honda alongside regular drivers, Alexander Rossi, Ryan Hunter Reay, Zach Veach, Colton Herta and Marco Andretti.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing have three cars following their partnership with Citrone Buhl Autosport with Spencer Pigot.

Paddock Eye understands that JR Hildebrand will return to Dreyer and Reinbold Racing alongside Sage Karam in a deal set to be announced shortly.

Dale Coyne Racing will return to a three car team for the 500 with James Davison, Stefan Wilson and Oriol Servia all reportedly in the running for a drive alongside Santino Ferrucci and Alex Palou.

We may not have fans at the track this year, however Hoosiers will be heard, after all this is Indy, this is the Indianapolis 500!

The show will go on!

Share This