Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Robert Wickens in his rookie season in the Verizon IndyCar Series has secured his first ever Verizon P1 Award for the season opening Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg.

In tricky conditions the Canadian set a fastest time of 01:01.6643s and will start the race alongside Team Penske’s Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet.

On a great day for Verizon IndyCar Series rookies, AJ Foyt Racing’s Matheus Matt Leist who was fastest in the opening practice session on Friday will start the race from third place having set a time of 01:01.7631s and will start just ahead of fellow rookie Jordan King.

King, driving the No.20 Fuzzy’s Vodka Chevrolet for Ed Carpenter Racing set a time of 01:01.7633s.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Takuma Sato in the No.30 MiJack Honda starts the race from fifth place just ahead of his former team mate Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda for Andretti Autosport.

Schmidt Peterson Motorsports James Hinchcliffe in the No.5 Arrow Electronics Honda starts the race from seventh just ahead of Harding Racing’s Gabby Chaves

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda starts the race from 9th place while Tony Kanaan made it two AJ Foyt Racing cars in the top ten in the No.14 ABC Supply Chevrolet.

Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 Menards Chevrolet for Team Penske had a tough session and will start the race from 11th place just ahead of Alexander Rossi in the No.27 Balance Auto Parts Honda.

Defending series champion Josef Newgarden in the No.1 Hitachi Team Penske Chevrolet was left disappointed as he starts the race 13th place just ahead of defending Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg race winner Sebastien Bourdais in the No.18 Seal Master Honda for Dale Coyne Racing with Vasser Sullivan.

Zach Veach in the No.26 Group One Thousand One Honda for Andretti Autosport starts the race from 15th place.

Ed Carpenter Racing’s Spencer Pigot in the No.21 Auto Geek Chevrolet will start from 16th place. Ed Jones in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing.

Marco Andretti in the No.98 Ruoff Home Mortgages Honda will start the race from 18th place just ahead of Michael Shank with Schmidt Peterson Motorsports No.60 Sirius XM Automation Honda’s Jack Harvey.

Carlin Racing’s Max Chilton in the No.53 Gallagher Chevrolet starts the race from 20th just ahead of his team mate Charlie Kimball in the No.23 Tresiba® Chevrolet.

Dale Coyne Racing’s Zachary Claman DeMelo in the No.19 Paysafe Honda starts the race from 22nd place.

Juncos Racing’s Rene Binder in the No.32 Chevrolet starts from 23rd place while Graham Rahal in the No.15 United Rentals Honda rounds out the grid in 24th place.

Share This