The Williams Martini Racing Team have confirmed that they will skip a year with their car name for next season.

In 2016, the Grove based outfit are using the FW38 which would have seen them use the FW39 next season however due to the fact the outfit are celebrating forty years in Formula One the team will run with the FW40 in 2017.

In forty years of competition in their current form, Williams have won the Constructors championship nine times and has won the Drivers championship seven times.

Williams champions include: Alan Jones 1980, Keke Rosberg 1982, Nelson Piquet 1987, Nigel Mansell 1992, Alan Prost 1993, Damon Hill 1996 and Jacques Villeneuve 1997. The team are set to confirm their 2017 driver line up on Thursday with European F3 champion, Canadian Lance Stroll set to be named as Valtteri Bottas’ team mate following Felipe Massa’s decision to retire.

Stroll will be the first Canadian to race in Formula One since Jacques Villeneuve drove for the Sauber F1 Team in 2006.

Share This