Andretti Global’s Colton Herta in the No.26 Gainbridge Honda ended the second practice session on Saturday morning ahead of qualifying for Sunday’s Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix presented by Lear with a time of 01:01.5726s, ending the session just ahead of his teammate Kyle Kirkwood in the No.27 AutoNation Honda, who set a time of 01:01.7381s.

That wasn’t the whole story, in the closing stages of the session, AJ Foyt Racing’s Santino Ferrucci got physical with Kirkwood after the pair came together on track. Kirkwood said on the radio that he feels that Ferrucci should be kicked out of the INDYCAR SERIES, while Ferrucci said that had Kirkwood not ruined his lap, he would have gone third but ended the session in 20th.

Following the session, Kirkwood said that Andretti Global will not have to worry about Ferrucci as he is always at the back in his Penske. Alex Palou in the No.10 DHL Chip Ganassi Racing Honda was third fastest with a time of 01:01.8982s, while Theo Pourchaire in the No.6 onsemi Arrow McLaren Chevrolet was fourth quickest and the leading Chevrolet-powered car with a time of 01:01.9429s ending up just ahead of Agustin Canapino who did a fantastic job for Juncos Hollinger Racing ending the morning in fifth place with a time of 01:02.1034s.

Scott McLaughlin in the No.3 Gallagher Team Penske Chevrolet was sixth fastest at 01:02.1120s ending up just ahead of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Christian Lundgaard.

Will Power was eighth just ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing Honda who set a fastest time of 01:02.3497s while Indianapolis 500 winner Josef Newgarden in the No.2 Astemo Team Penske Chevrolet rounded out the top ten with a time of 01:02.4240s.

Graham Rahal in the No.15 iPacket Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda was 11th with a time of 01:02.4669s just ahead of Alexander Rossi and Marcus Ericsson.

Romain Grosjean was 14th with a time of 01:02.5300s just ahead of Pato O’Ward and Rinus VeeKay. Marcus Armstrong was 17th just ahead of Christian Rasmussen and Felix Rosenqvist while Santino Ferrucci rounded out the top 20 in the No.14 Sexton Properties AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet.

Pietro Fittipaldi was 21st just ahead of Kyffin Simpson and Sting Ray Robb while Linus Lundqvist was 24th just ahead of Helio Castroneves and the returning Tristan Vautier of Dale Coyne Racing while Jack Harvey rounded out the order in 27th place.



Share This