Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Christian Lundgaard in the No.49 Hy-Vee Honda had a dream start to his month of May on Friday as he claimed his maiden career NTT P1 Award for Saturday’s GMR Grand Prix of Indianapolis on the IMS road course.

Rahal struggled as a team in the opening part of the season; however, their hard work paid off on Friday with all three of their cars making it into the Firestone Fast 12 while Jack Harvey and Lundgaard made it into the Fast 6, Graham Rahal in the No.15 Fifth Third Bank Honda starting the race from eighth place.

Lundgaard, who set a time of 01:09.3321s is joined on the front row by Arrow McLaren’s Felix Rosenqvist who set a time of 01:09.3348s. Alex Palou in the No.10 American Legion Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing starts the race from third place just ahead of Jack Harvey in the No.30 Kustom Entertainment Honda, who set a 01:09.4220s.

Pato O’Ward in the No.5 Arrow McLaren starts the race from fifth place just ahead of Kyle Kirkwood who was the only Andretti Autosport driver to advance into the fast six.

NTT INDYCAR SERIES points leader Marcus Ericsson in the No.8 Huski Chocolate Honda starts the race from 7th just ahead of Graham Rahal while Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda starts the race from ninth place with a 01:09.4757s while Alexander Rossi rounds out the top ten.

Marcus Ericsson had a great session in the No.11 Ridgeline Lubricants Chip Ganassi Racing Honda as he rolls off 11th while Will Power rounded out the Firestone Fast 12 with a 01:10.1872s just ahead of his teammate Josef Newgarden in the No.2 Snap-On Chevrolet who had his fastest time deleted after coming across the spinning Benjamin Pedersen.

Colton Herta starts the race from 14th with a time of 01:10.1872s and starts the race just ahead of his teammate Devlin DeFrancesco. Scott McLaughlin starts the race from P16 just ahead of Rinus VeeKay and Romain Grosjean.

Simon Pagenaud starts the race from 19th place just ahead of David Malukas who rounds out the top 20. Conor Daly starts the race from 21st place just ahead of Sting Ray Robb and Benjamin Pederesen.

Juncos Hollinger Racing’s Callum Ilott and Agustin Canapino start 24th and 25th respectively. Helio Castroneves and Santino Ferrucci round out the grid.


Share This