Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Business Team Penske Chevrolet ended a two-year winless streak to claim his first win of the season and his 42nd career victory. With it, he takes a five-point lead in the championship over Chip Ganassi Racing’s Alex Palou. It was also a Team Penske 1,2,3 at Road America, with Indianapolis 500 winner Josef Newgarden coming home second despite making contact with Colton Herta on the opening lap of the race.

Scott McLaughlin in the No.3 XPEL Team Penske Chevrolet completed the podium sweep for the team and it also means that all three Penske drivers have won a race this season.

Defending series champion Alex Palou in the No.10 DHL Chip Ganassi Racing Honda came home in fourth place, just ahead of Andretti Global’s Kyle Kirkwood and Colton Herta. Pato O’Ward in the No.5 Arrow McLaren ended the race in seventh, just ahead of Juncos Hollinger Racing’s Romain Grosjean, who was eighth, just ahead of Marcus Ericsson. Graham Rahal rounded out the top ten.

Christian Lundgaard ended the race in 11th place, just ahead of pole-sitter Linus Lundqvist, who was hit on the opening lap by his teammate, Marcus Armstrong, on a disastrous day for Chip Ganassi Racing.

Theo Pourchaire came home in 13th place, just ahead of Felix Rosenqvist, while Santino Ferrucci was 15th for AJ Foyt Racing, just ahead of Pietro Fittipaldi and Sting Ray Robb, who was 17th. Alexander Rossi was 18th just ahead of Helio Castroneves and Christian Rasmussen who was handed a stop go penalty for contact with Kyffin Simpson.

On what was an absolutely disastrous day for Scott Dixon, he ended the race in 21st place after suffering blisters on his Firestone Alternate tires and being swamped by the field. In the final laps of the race, he was forced to make a late splash and stop for fuel, and as a result, the Iceman lost two spots in the championship, dropping from first to third.

Luca Ghiotto ended the race in 22nd just ahead of Nolan Siegel of Juncos Hollinger Racing while Rinus VeeKay was 23rd just ahead of Jack Harvey who rounded out the order for Dale Coyne Racing. Kyffin Simpson and Marcus Armstrong were the only retirements from the race.

The NTT INDYCAR SERIES’s next event is the Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca in California.

Share This